Slight Changes

22 10 2007

Some slight changes have been brewing for some time at this blog.

Mainly, I will start writing here about as many papers as I can of those I read. The motivation for this is twofold: increasing frequency of writing, and understanding papers better. My thesis advisor has been telling me for some time now that I need to write a one paragraph summary of a paper after I finish reading it, that I should not need to refer back to the paper in order to do this, and that I should not move on to the next paper without producing a summary for the previous. I’ll try to group these into sets of relevant papers which also tie together my thoughts on the papers and ideas I get from them.

The next few papers will be on Singularity and provably correct garbage collectors. The JIT JavaScript VM I was originally going to write with friends this semester split into multiple groups when another team member decided to pursue another project and took half the group with him. I intended to stay with the original project, but only two others made the same choice. And three people is not enough to implement a complete JIT compiler from scratch in 3 months. We meandered through a number of topics, and still don’t have a clear final direction (which is worrisome considering this is supposed to turn into my honors thesis). We’ve settled more or less into the broad area of cross language memory management and runtime systems. We’ve read a number of papers: several on conservative garbage collection, a couple on Haskell FFI, the Xerox PARC Portable Common Runtime, and a few others. I’ll try to write about all of them at some point, again grouped into logical sets. That’s all for now – I have to spend time getting ready for upcoming midterms and interviews.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

