So I Was On Reddit

8 08 2007

So, apparently, less than two weeks after starting this blog, I ended up on programming.reddit.com (direct link) for this entry on the fact that most monad tutorials are awful, and offering a pointer to a paper . Apparently if you tag an entry with ‘monads,’ avid Haskell users flock to your blog (I exaggerate of course – just many more people than otherwise read my blog). Really, I suspect that using that tag just got more people to notice, and most of the hits came from Reddit, where I was probably only posted because I had a bit of an opinion, plus a link to Wadler’s paper. Interesting phenomenon.

Apparently I got a peak of 1,015 page views on August 2nd, as well as getting included in the “Blog Noise” section of Haskell Weekly News. Having never really blogged about anything other than my personal life before this summer, it’s interesting to see how certain keywords draw spikes of attention. For that reason, I’m specifically not tagging this entry with ‘haskell’ or ‘monads’ because I don’t want to distract that many people. Just thought it was interesting.

EDIT: Hello again, reddit-ors.

Actions

Information

9 responses

8 08 2007
augustss

Avoiding the tags is not enough, you have to avoid the words. 🙂

8 08 2007
Cale Gibbard

Some of us use Google blog search which searches on the full text. 🙂

(That’s actually likely how you were spotted in the first place.)

8 08 2007
Don Stewart

I came here looking for more information on these monads. Can you write some more about them plz, or maybe applicative functors? kthx!

8 08 2007
Eric Mertens

I think you forgot to tag this blog posting, it was somewhat tricky to stumble upon…

8 08 2007
Korollary

You know, dons actually knows your phone number. He’ll be calling you soon to check whether you have any questions about monad transformers.

8 08 2007
Geniepro

> You know, dons actually knows your phone number. He’ll be calling you soon to check whether you have any questions about monad transformers.

me too, please! :o))

8 08 2007
Milli Vakilli

Holy crap, I would pee myself and quit my job if my blog got that many hits. I would then be covered in urine and unemployed but I would still be pretty excited.

8 08 2007
Top Posts « WordPress.com

[…] So I Was On Reddit So, apparently, less than two weeks after starting this blog, I ended up on programming.reddit.com (direct link) for […] […]

14 08 2007
apfelmus

I may help to tag your posts with ‘warm, fuzzy things’ instead of ‘monads’. In fact, a different self of yours from a parallel net already did so.

Leave a Reply

